1. “Before going back to college, I knew I didn’t want to be an intellectual spending my life in books, and libraries without knowing what the hell is going on in the streets. Theory without practice is just as incomplete as practice without theory. The two have to go together.”

2. “A wall is just a wall. It can be broken down.”

3. “My name is Assata Shakur, and I am a revolutionary, a black revolutionary. This is not the time to feel depressed or defeated. This is not the time to forget about struggling, or to forget about all the sisters and brothers who have been railroaded into dungeons. Rather, it is the time to feel outraged, to feel determined, to fight against this government tooth and nail, not for what it is doing to me, but for what it is doing to us all. I would like to make this a better world for my daughter and for all the children of this world, for all men and women of this world.”

Image by Miranda Bergman, 1977, printed by Jane Norling

