_20160504_130121afenishakur-e1340062840210 Afeni Shakur’s Anti-Prison Anti-Police Brutality and Mass Incarceration poem from the Black Panther Party newspaper from August 1, 1970. The poster includes artwork from Emory Douglas and a poem by Afeni Shakur enjoy!!! Rip Afeni Shakur Panther 21, BLA, RNA

Haki Kweli Shakur 5-4-51ADM
ATCO-NAPLA-AMAZONS-NAIM

To Our Black Brothers in Prison, Black Panther Party USA

A man’s got a right to be free he can’t be caged up like a dog and not strike out in agony.

I just can’t take no more– it’s wrong for them to chain me like this, My mind won’t rest in this cage i got to try i just gotta take the risk its either resist or let this anger turn to rage and then i’ll be to blind to think

I’ll be to hung to fight how much lower must i sink before i begin to do whats right, i’d rather be dead in my grave then live this life as a slave, A captured man i’ll never be theres nothing left but to be free

These bars are sho’nuff cold! But they ain’t got nothing on these pigs, They not only murder but they plent bold! They beat brothers every hour on the hour, They chain you to the bars and spit in your face, They got mo’ never then the lord will allow!

If they look at me wrong today I’m gonna lay’em to waste

A mans got the right to be free they can’t expect me to live like this, i’d rather be dead and in my grave then live this life as a slave, a captured man i’ll never be theres nothing left but to be free!

They killed my cell mate just last night we’ve gotta stop this jive time game, we can do it all there is, is a big bad fight, They think because we’re caged we’re al tame, but they’ll find out in a day or so, I know i can’t take this trap no more, the walls are too close the windows too small, But if we take the warden we’ll get through the door , i’d rather be dead and in my grave then live this life as a slave, there’s nothing left but to die FREE!!!!!

– Afeni Shakur

